An Update on Me

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. I’m awful at keeping up with blogs, if you hadn’t figured that out yet. I never know what to say, and there’s something about them that makes me feel very awkward. But I’m going to try, seeing as how I’ve been incommunicado for three months.

There’s a lot going on right now. I moved to Chicago (in July) and I’m still adjusting. Turns out being a pet sitter (my other job) is a lot more time consuming in a big city. It’s one of the things I enjoy most about the move, though. The dogs. I feel like I’m constantly in a state of “aw, omg, can I keep you?” I love animals, all right? They’re perfect.

I’ve gone on a few trips as well – for hockey! – and I’m considering it to be research as well as a good time. I went to Canada for the first time this past weekend, and I got to experience border patrol in all its glory. We were detained going both ways and questioned to hell and back while our car was searched. Apparently twenty-something redheads look highly suspicious traveling on their own. My advice, if you’re going to cross the border, dye your hair and clean your car. Other than that, it was great. I got to see the rookie Dallas Stars players fight for a spot on the roster, and I got to see a favorite player of mine who’d been traded play against one of his best friends (the feels people, the feels).

Writing has been a struggle these past few months. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been so busy, or that I’ve just hit one of those pockets of “ah god, this all sucks.” Either way, I’m pushing through it, and continuing to give voice to the people running around inside my head.

Leave a Reply

